Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Everest Marathon

Everest Marathon is an annual marathon event held on May 29 every year on the occasion of Everest Day in the district of Solukhumbu, Nepal. Mount Everest, the highest peak in the world at 8848 m, is located in the Mahalangur Himal sub-range of the Himalayas.

The marathon begins at Everest Base Camp (EBC) at an altitude of 5364 m and moves towards the Sherpa trail of Khumbu Valley. Considered to be one of the most challenging races in the world, the event is officially approved and recognized by the Government of Nepal as well.

In recognition of the first successful ascent of the highest peak in the world by the duo of Late Tenzing Norgay Sherpa and Sir Edmund Hillary on 29 May 1953, this event was officially named as Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon. The marathon includes three different categories for its participants, which include a 60 km extreme Ultra Marathon Race, a 42 km Full Marathon Race and a 21 km Half Marathon Race.

Rules and Regulations

The Everest Marathon is open to all runners aged 18 or above from all over the world as long as they fulfill a certain set of criteria. A medical checkup certificate from authorized health professionals that certifies the runner’s ability to withstand high altitude conditions is mandatory while submitting the application form. Considering the high altitude conditions of the race, runners are also advised by the organizers to take a minimum of 1–5 days for acclimatization. All runners are also compulsorily required to have valid health insurance before participation. The marathon also has a participation limit of 250 runners across all categories.

Start time

The start time for the marathon differs according to each category. The Ultra Marathon begins at 06:00 AM, while the Full Marathon begins at 07:00 AM and finally the Half Marathon begins at 8:00 AM.


Depending upon the category, the race has different starting points. The starting point for the Full Marathon and the Ultra-Marathon has been set to the Khumbu Icefall. The Half-Marathon however begins from Dingboche (4360 m).

Everest Marathon 2023

The 2023 edition of Everest Marathon is the 19th edition of this magnificent event to celebrate the 70th anniversary of the successful ascent of Mount Everest by Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay Sherpa in 1953. The 60 km Ultra Marathon this year has also been upped to 70 km.

How to participate in the Everest Marathon?

Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon is not just an ordinary race or like every other marathon– it truly is a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Join Cordial Trek for this once a year opportunity to book your spot. Contact us today !!

You may also contact us for more information on Everest Base Camp (EBC) Trek, its variation, luxury packages, Helicopter tours and many more.

Our Everest Trek Packages

Course Map

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *